Teach English | ELPNZ

Auckland Central

Teach English

Volunteer as an ESOL home tutor

Complete the Certificate in ESOL Home Tutoring

Learn about working with other cultures and practical teaching techniques. Then teach English to a migrant or refugee-background learner.

  • 20 hour training course (minimum)
  • 4 assessment tasks
  • Tutor 1-2 hours per week
  • Follow up session once tutoring starts

After training you will

  • Be matched with a learner
  • Have access to a resource library and online teaching worksheets and resources
  • Receive ongoing training and support

Want to know more? Contact us | More about ESOL Home Tutoring | Read our job description | More about our training course 

Apply online

Our training programme 2018

Venue:  Courtyard Room, St Luke’s Church, 130 Remuera Road, Remuera

 
Course 1
Day 1  Tuesday 27th February                             9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 2  Tuesday 6th March                                   9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 3  Tuesday 13th March                                 9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 4  Tuesday 20th March                                 9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 5  Tuesday 27th March                                 9.30am - 2.30pm
 
Day 6  Tuesday 8th May                                      10.30am - 11.30am
           or Monday 7th May                                    6.30pm - 7.30pm
           (Day 6 in ELP Office, 1A York St, Newmarket)
 

Course 2

Day 1  Friday 11th May                                           9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 2  Saturday 12th May                                      9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 3  Friday 18th May                                          9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 4  Saturday 19th May                                      9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 5  Saturday 26th May                                      9.30am - 2.30pm
 
Day 6  Friday 29th June                                         10.30am - 11.30am
           or Monday 2nd June                                    6.30pm - 8.00pm
           (Day 6 in ELP Office, 1A York St, Newmarket)
 
Course 3
Day 1  Wednesday 1st August                                   9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 2  Wednesday 8th August                                   9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 3  Wednesday 15th August                                 9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 4  Wednesday 22nd August                                9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 5  Wednesday 29th August                                 9.30am - 2.30pm
 
Day 6  Monday 29th October                                     10.30am - 11.30am
           or Wednesday 31th October                            6.30pm - 7.30pm
           (Day 6 in ELP Office, 1A York St, Newmarket)

Course 4

Day 1  Friday 26th October                                          9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 2  Saturday 27th October                                      9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 3  Friday 2nd November                                        9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 4  Saturday 3rd November                                    9.30am - 2.30pm
Day 5  Saturday 10th November                                  9.30am - 2.30pm
 
Day 6  Friday 7th December                                        10.30am - 11.30am
           or Monday 10th December                                6.30pm - 8.00pm
           (Day 6 in ELP Office, 1A York St, Newmarket)

 

Like to join our next training course?
For more information on our next training course please email the office or call us on  523 0071.

 

You can apply online.